Consumers' Cooperative Association of Swarthmore, Inc. Minutes of the Annual Meeting April 23, 2015

The meeting was opened at 7:10 p.m. by Martyn Harding, President of the Board of Directors. He welcomed the 40 members in attendance (according to the sign-in sheet) who formed a quorum required by the by-laws.

Formal Business of the Meeting

Martyn began by introducing the members of the Board, Michael Markowicz, Carol Savery, Pam Bartholomew, Andy Rosen, Karen Shore, Helen Nadel, Don Delson, Ines Rodriquez, all of whom were in attendance but Bob Scott who arrived later.

Martyn introduced the four candidates for nomination to the board: Michael Markowicz, and Pam Bartholomew who were running for a second term and Ines Rodriguez and Jill Gaieski (who could not attend). He explained that the Board had moved from 12 directors to 9 in the last two years. The Board has now determined that 10 directors is preferable.

Helen Nadel retired from the Board after serving 2 terms. Martyn lauded her service, especially her role in starting the Sunday Suppers program.

At the conclusion of the meeting, Secretary, Pam Bartholomew announced that 118 ballots had been cast. The nominees were all elected.

Financial Review

Michael Markowicz, Treasurer of the Board, reviewed the financial performance of the Coop in 2014.

Two significant financial goals were accomplished. All member loans have now been repaid. And the Co-op secured refinancing for its mortgage from PNC Bank who gave us both a favorable rate and terms.

Both sales and profit were up in 2014 compared to 2013: sales up 4.5% in 2014 with a profit of \$60k versus \$10k in 2013. Although 1Q15 sales were off slightly (-1%) compared to last year in part due to the construction of the roundabout, significantly improved margins yielded a \$33k profit for the quarter. The 2014 budgeted sales goal of \$5.8MM was achieved. The goal for 2015 is \$6MM.

Operations Overview

New General Manager, Cheston Lawrence, began by thanking operations manager Sara Yoo who was interim GM in 2014. He also introduced the new Marketing Manager, Jason Shapiro who came to the Co-op with significant IT experience, just in time to redo the website in time for the 4/21 deadline for Google's mobile compatibility requirements.

Cheston also announced that new meat and seafood cases were going to be installed in May. Many Co-op sponsored community events will continue: Member Appreciations Days (4 times per year), the very popular Quizzo Nights on First Fridays, Beer & Cheese Tastings, Truck-a-thons, Pop Up Restaurants, Easter Egg Hunts and seasonal grilling on the patio.

Question and Answer

Audience/members wanted to know about the number of non-Swarthmore members. There has been an effort to attract members from other zip codes that has resulted in increased memberships. The Co-op will do a direct mail coupon mailing to targeted zip codes. Redemptions will be able to be tracked by zip code.

Cheston said that the overall membership goal for 2015 is 450 new members.

Participation in Media Street Fair was brought up as a way to gain exposure out of Swarthmore. Sara Yoo announced that the Co-op will participate in the Media Food Festival.

Members were assured that cooking classes would continue despite Helen Nadel's departure from the Board. The Education Committee is alive and well!

Cheston was asked about the threat that the proposed new Wegmans stores in Britton Lake and Springfield might pose to the Co-op. He plans to "pre-market" emphasizing the proximity and personal relationships that the Co-op offers.

Former GM Jack Cavanaugh congratulated the Board on achieving the financial goals of repaying all of the member loans and refinancing the mortgage.

Members asked if there were plans to offer member discounts or dividends. Now that the loans have been repaid, when and how to offer those benefits can be considered.

Conclusion

The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 p.m., and members were invited to stay to enjoy food and beverages.

An Executive Session followed the conclusion of the annual meeting. Board members met to elect officers for 2014. The Board unanimously voted: Martyn Harding for President, Carol Savery for Vice President, Michael Markowicz as Treasurer, and Pam Bartholomew for Secretary.

The executive session was adjourned at 8:40 p.m. on a motion by Don, seconded by Michael.

Respectfully submitted,

Pam Bartholomew, Secretary